How to Remove an Account in Windows 10 and Windows 8

In some situations you might want to remove an account from Windows, such as an account you tested a piece of software on. We will explain you how you remove an account in Windows 10 and Windows 8

 

Remove an Account in Windows 10 and Windows 8

To change these settings you have to be logged-in to an Account with Administrator rights. You cannot remove an account you are using.

1. Begin by right-clicking the Start Icon of Windows.

2. Then click Control Panel

3. Then under User Accounts and Family Safety, click Change Account Type

Windows 10: Change Account Type How to Remove an Account in Windows 10 and Windows 8 How to Remove an Account in Windows 10 and Windows 8

Windows 10: Change Account Type

4. Then choose the account you wish to change, and double-click it.

5. Then click on Delete this Account

Windows 10: Delete User Account How to Remove an Account in Windows 10 and Windows 8 How to Remove an Account in Windows 10 and Windows 8

Windows 10: Delete User Account

6.You can now choose if you wish to keep the account his files, if you want to keep the files then click on Keep Files otherwise choose Delete Files

7. A confirmation will appear, if you are sure you wish to remove the account then choose, Delete Account

Windows 10: Sure you wish to remove account? How to Remove an Account in Windows 10 and Windows 8 How to Remove an Account in Windows 10 and Windows 8

Windows 10: Sure you wish to remove account?

 

The account will now be removed from your system.

 

What's your reaction?
Solved it!
10%
Helped me
15%
Didn't work
54%
Inaccurate Information
21%
About The Author
Yuri Pustjens
Yuri Pustjens
2014, 2015 & 2016 Microsoft Most Valuable Professional Windows Yuri specializes in troubleshooting (crash analysis and devices), system resource utilisation and system performance. He is also very interested in Customer Security. Yuri can be found as Windows Community Moderator and Wiki Author on Microsoft Answers and is active on different communities all across the web.
1 Comments
Leave a response
  • Liz Damian
    October 9, 2015 at 3:17 am

    So, if I choose to keep my files and then I restart everything. All my documents will be remove? Is there a way I can save them in case all my important documents are deleted? I work on the audio system my files are in this computer and I work with this other folks they went out of the country and I am encharge of the audio system. I wish you can help me. Thanks

Leave a Response